Democratic Republic of the Congo Minus

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), often referred to simply as Congo-Kinshasa, is located in Central Africa. It is bordered by nine countries: to the north, the Central African Republic and South Sudan; to the east, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Tanzania; to the southeast, Zambia; to the south, Angola; and to the west, the Republic of the Congo and the Atlantic Ocean.



The DRC experiences a variety of climates, including equatorial, tropical, and sub-tropical. The equatorial region in the north and west has a hot and humid climate with heavy rainfall throughout the year, while the south and southeast regions have a more temperate climate with distinct wet and dry seasons.


The DRC is home to one of the richest and most diverse ecosystems in Africa, with vast rainforests, savannas, and wetlands. Its fauna includes a wide variety of species such as elephants, gorillas, chimpanzees, bonobos, leopards, and numerous bird species.

Longest Rivers

The Congo River, often referred to as the heart of Africa, is the longest river in the DRC and the second-longest in Africa after the Nile. It flows for approximately 4,700 kilometers (2,920 miles) through the country, providing vital water resources and transportation routes.

Highest Mountains

The highest point in the DRC is Margherita Peak, located in the Rwenzori Mountains on the border with Uganda. It stands at an elevation of 5,109 meters (16,763 feet) above sea level.



The territory of present-day DRC has been inhabited by various indigenous peoples for thousands of years. Archaeological evidence suggests human presence dating back to the Stone Age, with early hunter-gatherer communities eventually giving way to agricultural societies.

Early Kingdoms and States

The region was home to several powerful kingdoms and states, including the Kingdom of Kongo and the Luba and Lunda Empires, which flourished from the 14th to the 19th centuries. These kingdoms engaged in trade with European merchants and played a significant role in shaping the region’s history.

Colonial Era

In the late 19th century, European powers, particularly Belgium under King Leopold II, began to establish control over the Congo Basin. The area became known as the Congo Free State, where brutal exploitation of the local population and resources occurred, resulting in millions of deaths.

Independence and Turmoil

The DRC gained independence from Belgium in 1960, but its post-colonial history has been marked by political instability, conflict, and economic challenges. The country has experienced periods of dictatorship, civil war, and foreign intervention, leading to widespread suffering and displacement of millions of people.

Recent Developments

In recent years, efforts have been made to stabilize the country and promote peace and development. However, the DRC continues to face numerous challenges, including corruption, poverty, human rights abuses, and ongoing armed conflict in various regions.


The DRC is one of the most populous countries in Africa, with a population of over 100 million people. It is ethnically and culturally diverse, with hundreds of ethnic groups, including the Kongo, Luba, Lunda, and Mongo. The population is predominantly Christian, with Catholicism being the largest denomination, followed by Protestantism and indigenous beliefs.

Administrative Divisions

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is divided into 26 provinces and the capital city of Kinshasa. Each province is further subdivided into territories and communes.

  1. Bas-Uélé
  2. Équateur
  3. Haut-Katanga
  4. Haut-Lomami
  5. Haut-Uélé
  6. Ituri
  7. Kasaï
  8. Kasaï-Central
  9. Kasaï-Oriental
  10. Kinshasa
  11. Kongo-Central
  12. Kwango
  13. Kwilu
  14. Lomami
  15. Lualaba
  16. Mai-Ndombe
  17. Maniema
  18. Mongala
  19. Nord-Kivu
  20. Nord-Ubangi
  21. Sankuru
  22. Sud-Kivu
  23. Sud-Ubangi
  24. Tanganyika
  25. Tshopo
  26. Tshuapa

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Kinshasa
  2. Lubumbashi
  3. Mbuji-Mayi
  4. Kisangani
  5. Bukavu
  6. Kananga
  7. Goma
  8. Kikwit
  9. Uvira
  10. Kolwezi

Education Systems

Education in the DRC faces significant challenges, including limited access to quality schooling, inadequate infrastructure, and a shortage of trained teachers. While primary education is officially free and compulsory, many children are unable to attend due to poverty and other factors. The country is home to several universities, including the University of Kinshasa and the University of Lubumbashi, but higher education opportunities remain limited for many.


The DRC has a limited transportation infrastructure, particularly in rural areas. However, the country has several airports, including N’djili International Airport in Kinshasa and Lubumbashi International Airport, as well as a network of railways and highways. The Congo River serves as a vital transportation artery, facilitating the movement of goods and people across the country.

Country Facts

  • Population: Over 100 million
  • Capital: Kinshasa
  • Language: French (official), Lingala, Swahili, Kikongo, Tshiluba
  • Religion: Christianity (predominantly Roman Catholicism and Protestantism), indigenous beliefs
  • Race: Various ethnic groups, including the Kongo, Luba, Lunda, and Mongo
  • Currency: Congolese franc (CDF)
  • ISO Country Codes: CD, COD
  • International Calling Code: +243
  • Top-Level Domain: .cd